Faculty Governance

The School of Data Science was founded in January 2020 as an interdisciplinary venture by the colleges of Business, Computing and Informatics, Health and Human Services, and Liberal Arts and Sciences. In fall 2021 the William States Lee College of Engineering joined the governing board for the School. Currently, the School has over 80 Core, Joint, and Affiliate faculty teaching in our undergraduate and graduate programs, and engaged in collaborative and transdisciplinary research projects across the campus. The continued success of the School relies on a robust Faculty Governance model that fosters broad-based engagement and input from the SDS faculty.

SDS Faculty Leadership: 2023-2024

  • Monica Johar, SDS Faculty President, BCOB: AY 2023-2024,
  • Harish Cherukuri, SDS Faculty President-Elect, COE: AY 2023-2024
  • Monica Johar, SDS University Faculty Council Representative, BCOB: AY 2022-2023
  • George Shaw, SDS University Faculty Council Representative- Alternative, PHS/CHHS: AY 2022-2023

SDS Faculty Meetings: 2023-2024

The SDS faculty meets quarterly.

  • August 2023- TBD
  • November 2023: TBD
  • February 2024: TBD
  • May 2024: TBD